Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils Fantasy Cricket Preview

Rajasthan Royals vs Delhi Daredevils.jpg

So much for all the pre-tournament predictions. Delhi Daredevils was the squad with the most depth, and Rajasthan Royals were touted as the team to beat. Three days into the tournament, if there’s one truth ringing out loudly, it is that in T20 cricket, no team is too far ahead of the rest.

Delhi learnt it after KL Rahul’s record-breaking fifty blew them away, while Rajasthan Royals were left a touch embarrassed by the bowlers of Sunrisers Hyderabad.

While these losses wouldn’t really put either team into a frenzy as yet, it will be important for both to shed the rustiness soon. Delhi’s bowling in their opening game came a cropper, as did Rajasthan’s batting. The format of IPL doesn’t allow much turnover time between games and thereby adds to the importance of running with the momentum.

For the Royals, there is something positive to take forward given that they return to what was their fortress, the Sawai Man Singh Stadium, after 2013. Their record (a win percentage of 72.24) at this ground is second to none in IPL, and that should help their cause.


When: Apr 11, 08:00 PM IST

Venue: Sawai Man Singh Stadium, Jaipur


Pitch Conditions

A pleasant, warm evening is forecast which should allow for a good game.

Venue Stats IPL

Total matches 36
Matches won batting first 18
Matches won bowling first 17
Average 1st Inns scores 148
Average 2nd Inns scores 135
Highest total recorded 189/5 (20 Ov) by India vs bangladesh
Lowest total recorded 112/10 (19.5 Ov) by India vs bangladesh
Highest score chased 168/5 (20 Ov) by India vs Sri Lanka
Lowest score defended 189/5 (20 Ov) by India vs bangladesh


Head to Head

Total Matches Play 16
Won by Rajasthan Royals 10
Won by  Delhi Daredevils 6



Team News

Rajasthan Royals

They fielded pretty much their strongest first eleven in the first game and are likely to continue the same way going forward, given that Jofra Archer is still unlikely to feature.


 Delhi Daredevils

Glenn Maxwell has rejoined the team and is likely to come in straightaway in the place of one off the allrounders, Daniel Christian or Chris Morris.



Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane(c), D Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Jos Buttler(w), Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin, Stuart Binny, Jofra Archer, Ankit Sharma, Anureet Singh, Ish Sodhi, Prashant Chopra, Sudhesan Midhun, Mahipal Lomror, Aryaman Birla, Jatin Saxena, Dushmantha Chameera, Heinrich Klaasen.

Delhi Daredevils:  Colin Munro, Gautam Gambhir(c), Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant(w), Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Daniel Christian, Amit Mishra, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Glenn Maxwell, Jason Roy, Prithvi Shaw, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett.



Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane(c), D Arcy Short, Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Rahul Tripathi, Jos Buttler(w), Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaydev Unadkat, Ben Laughlin.

Delhi Daredevils

Gautam Gambhir (c), Colin Munro, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Chris Morris/Daniel Chrisitan, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult.



Gautam Gambhir

Shreyas Iyer

Glenn Maxwell

Ajinkya Rahane

D Arcy Short

Sanju Samson

Ben Stokes


Player to watch

D Arcy Short


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s