Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils Fantasy Cricket Preview

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils.jpg

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils


Delhi Daredevils, who faced defending champions Mumbai Indians at Wankhede, didn’t particularly impress with the ball. After choosing to field first against Rohit Sharma and Co, Gautam Gambhir’s bowlers proved expensive as Mumbai posted 194 on the board.

Although bowlers like Trent Boult and Daniel Christian went for a lot of runs, they picked up crucial wickets to keep Mumbai in check. Delhi have also found an unusual wicket-taker in Rahul Tewatia who broke the deadlock by sending both openers back to the pavilion. But what was impressive was Delhi chasing down a difficult target.

They have opener Jason Roy to thank for; the Englishman stood till the very end as he scored a blistering 91 runs off just 53 deliveries. Rishabh Pant played the supporting role as he scored 47 runs off 25 balls. Delhi only lost three wickets as they reached the target in the last ball of the innings. The win meant that Delhi finally emerged victorious during an IPL 2018 game, two of which they have previously lost.

Kolkata, on the other hand, had a disappointing outing at Eden Gardens as visitors Sunrisers Hyderabad outclassed them in every way. After being put to bat, Kolkata’s batsmen never really got into the groove as Hyderabad, who by far look the strongest bowling unit in IPL 2018, choked the home side. While Billy Stanlake and Shakib Al Hasan took two wickets each, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who didn’t play the match against Mumbai Indians, came back with a 3-wicket haul at Eden Gardens.

Kolkata could only manage a below-par score of 138, which the visitors chased down rather easily at the end. Hyderabad Captain Kane Williamson scored a half-century as Sunrisers crossed the finish line without much trouble. Kolkata, who had a decent start to IPL 2018 with a victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore, find themselves stuck in a kind of a rut as they lost two back-to-back games against Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

If you have to look at the momentum, it’s all Delhi Daredevils. A big victory against Mumbai Indians was exactly what the team needed to kickstart their IPL 2018 season. The Daredevils were good in patches in the game against Rajasthan Royals and will feel unlucky to have lost that game as Duckworth Lewis rules were applied in a rain-hit match.

Kolkata Knight Riders, who started the season as a team to look out for, suddenly find themselves with two consecutive losses. But with players like Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Andre Russell and Kuldeep Yadav, Kolkata will be confident about turning this around. For the fans though, this is going to be one exciting encounter as both teams will go all guns blazing.

When:  Apr 16,  08:00 PM IST

Venue: Eden Gardens, Kolkata


Pitch Conditions

The Eden Gardens track is considered as one of the better batting surfaces although spinners tend to come into action as the match wears on. Spinners have enjoyed bowling here in IPL games as well.


Venue Stats IPL

Total matches 63
Matches won batting first 23
Matches won bowling first 40
Average 1st Inns scores 154
Average 2nd Inns scores 143
Highest total recorded 204/2 (18.2 Ov) by KXIP vs KKR
Lowest total recorded 49/10 (9.4 Ov) by RCB vs KKR
Highest score chased 204/2 (18.2 Ov) by KXIP vs KKR
Lowest score defended 114/4 (20 Ov) by CSK vs KKR


Head to Head

Total Matches Play 21
Won by Kolkata Knight Riders 12
Won by Delhi Daredevils 8



Total Matches Play 7
Won by Kolkata Knight Riders 6
Won by Delhi Daredevils 1


Team News

Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR made 3 changes in the last game but the move did not work to well. Again, they can make a couple of changes for a better balance.

Delhi Daredevils

They are Playing with Same11.



Kolkata Knight Riders : Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Tom Curran, Vinay Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Mitchell Johnson, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Apoorv Wankhade, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles


Delhi Daredevils: Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Shreyas Iyer, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Colin Munro, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett



Kolkata Knight Riders

Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Rinku Singh /  Ishank Jaggi / Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Mitchell Johnson/Tom Curran, Piyush Chawla, Shivam Mavi/R Vinay Kumar / Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav

Delhi Daredevils

Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir (c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult.



Chris Lynn,

Sunil Narine

Andre Russell

Dinesh Karthik

Jason Roy

Gautam Gambhir (c)

Glenn Maxwell


Player to watch

Glenn Maxwell


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s